May, 2017’s Birchbox Review

It’s been so, so long since I last wrote and my last entry was a pretty deep one. I think it’s now time to focus mostly on subscriptions and things of that sort as I’m officially and utterly addicted to monthly subscription boxes. I know that reviews and unboxings are a dime a dozen, but still, I want my go at it – what better way to share my addiction AND my big mouth with everyone out there??

_____________________

This is my very first box with Birchbox and I chose to go with The Curated Box instead of being completely surprised. To be honest, I don’t know what I was thinking because now I’m going to be putting 3 items up for Swap since I won’t be using them. Oh well. I must have gotten way over-excited, lol.

Here’s the info card sharing about each item that I received:

Beauty Protector Protect & Detangle

The great things about this is that it’s paraben- and sulfate-free and it’s supposed to protect against UV rays. I’m not going to use this, though, because right now my hair is about 5 zillion inches long. I have almost immediate plans to get it chopped off, but right now I always wear it up and so this product is kind of pointless. I could use it after my haircut, but I’d rather swap for something else.

Coastal Scents Blush & Bronzer Palette

Blush and bronzer…ugh. I am very, very pale with extreme red undertones…or perhaps you could say “overtones”. (Eczema? Rosacea??) Blush is an absolute no way with my skin, as is bronzer. I so wish I could use bronzer, but it just doesn’t work. 😦 These are very pretty colors, though.(According to Birchbox’s picture – I didn’t open it since I’m swapping it.)

COOLA SPF 30 Organic Makeup Setting Spray

A matte-finish setting spray with built-in SPF?? Count me the heck in!!

Vasanti BrightenUp! Enzymatic Face Rejuvenator

I’m iffy about this. I want to try it because it says it will combat redness, but it also says that it’s a “powerful exfoliator”. Not only am I cursed with a red face, but I’m also cursed with sensitive skin. It contains aloe vera, coconut, vitamin B AND vitamin E, though, so *maybe* that will help combat the harshness?? Oh, what the heck…I’m going to try it and see what happens. It’s Friday so I have 2 days to recuperate if it butchers me, lol.

Vita Liberata Fabulous Self-Tanning Gradual Lotion

According to Birchbox, this formula is tint- and scent-free (FYI for those with fragrance allergies!!). It contains shea butter and extracts from lychee, melon and ginko biloba leaf and is paraben-, sulfate- and phthalates-free. Pretty awesome stuff!! (For someone who isn’t so pale she glows in the dark…)

**FREE GIFT – Pixi by Petra MultiBalm in Wild Rose**

I received this for free for subscribing. This “MultiBalm” is for your lips AND cheeks. It contains shea butter, aloe vera and rosehip oil. I really, really like this color. I’d say it’s sort of a “rose-ish” mauve color (technical name there). Very flattering for my skin tone!

So, all in all, I’m okay with the box. Because of my free item I ended up getting to keep 3 items total instead of just 2. I’m not going to complain, though, because it’s only $10 a month, I get to keep 3 items and I’ll swap for 3 others.

Specials and Prices

There are two subscription options:

-Monthly – $10/month (cancel anytime)

-Yearly – $110/year (use code BESTYEAR99 and it’s only $99)

Right now they have another free gift offer when you sign up for a subscription: join now and receive a free M.A.C. glossy lip pencil in the shade Look Lively. Use code IWANTUMAC at checkout.

Check ’em out for yourself if you’re not already a subscriber!

Birchbox 🙂

Have a thought or a question? Reply!!

Lizzie's Lair

Where *Most* Anything Goes

Up Down Travel

Curated Travel Resources for Parents

THE DOGLADY'S DEN

Eclectic Musings, Memoirs, Music & More

Omid's TechBlog!

A copy of my blog in blogger

the fulfilling life

anything under the sun

the ease of freeze

Freezer Cooking and Baking

Handmade Mentality♥

Bits & Pieces of Jess

Just Married Mom of 3

Where Giveaways, Product Reviews, DIY/Crafts, & Recipes Live Happily Ever After

Lizzie's Life

Subscriptions, Opinions, Life, Randomness & More

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

